Inspire Me Wednesday – A Prayer For Courage

Inspire me Wednesdays are about inspiring quotes or inspiring stories, to give us all a mid-week boost.

For today’s Inspire Me Wednesday, I came across a prayer by Rabindranath Tagore. Simple but eloquent words. I especially like the last line.

A Prayer For Courage
Rabindranath Tagore

Let me not pray to be sheltered from dangers,
But to be fearless in facing them.
Let me not beg for the stilling of my pain,
But for the heart to conquer it.
Let me not look for allies in life’s battlefield,
But to my own strength.
Let me not crave in anxious fear to be saved,
But hope for the patience to win my freedom.
Grant me that I may not be a coward, feeling your mercy in my success alone,
But let me find the grasp of your hand in my failure.

It’s a prayer that isn’t asking for God/ a Higher Power to remove our troubles but rather asking for the strength to go through our troubles bravely. For we all know by now that life will always be filled with challenges, they do not magically disappear and the only way past is through them. What we want is the courage, strength and wisdom to go through them. I so like the last line, because it gives me the sense that God is with me even through my failures and difficulties, to bring me through them.

Wishing all of you courage, strength and wisdom!

Share your ideas and inspirations by leaving a comment or emailing me at mindurspirit@gmail.com. Every Wednesday , I will choose one inspiring idea/story to post.

3 Comments

Filed under Life is Awesome

3 responses to “Inspire Me Wednesday – A Prayer For Courage

  1. Prithi..this is beautiful. I will go to sleep with this prayer…very peaceful. Thank you!

  2. Pingback: Wednesday Inspiration « TALESBYCINDY

What are you thinking?

