Possibilities- Life is full of them!

One fine day at work, I had a bit of a lull and was just reading random articles on the web. I came across Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project. It’s about her journey to find happiness and to fortify herself against future challenges and adversity by learning how to be happy at the present moment.

It really got me thinking about what I was doing. At that point, I was going through a lot of confusion as to which direction to go in life, with regards to work, family and interests.

One of Gretchen’s main principles is to Be Gretchen – that is, for each of us, to be ourselves, to accept firstly our own fundamental natures and to accept our own limitations. I got to thinking seriously about what really energizes me, what I really would like to see myself do.

I made some tough choices, let go of opportunities that seemed great on the outside but may not really be the best for me. See, in life they say you have to grab opportunities when they come along, but I think you have to check if that option is something that is really suitable for you. Don’t feel compelled to go with something because that seems the expected direction to take.

Basically I am on my own happiness journey like Gretchen Rubin and I am learning everyday. How to savour everyday, how to make the choices that are right for me, how to go beyond the problems of my own little world and make an impact on others and so on…

Life is filled with possibilities and obstacles. We do have a tendency to focus on the obstacles, and we do that because obviously we want to find ways to remove them. But if we get too obsessed with the obstacles in our lives we will miss out on the possibilities out there. Do what you can do to overcome the challenges but also focus on the things that are going right, and on all the ways in which you can make life richer for yourself and others. This is how I try to keep my spirits up each day – What can I do today to make today a great day?

What are some things you do to make the day go better? What possibilities are you looking forward to? Do share!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life is Awesome

What are you thinking?