Inspire Me Wednesday – Prayer

Prayer has been said to have healing effects for people, regardless of their belief or non-belief in God/religion. Many a times a lot of us have prayed for something or the other. We may have been disappointed several times when we have not gotten what we have been asking for, sometimes despite repeated attempts. Dispirited, we may ask – What happened to the power of prayer?

Susan Jeffers, in her book Embracing Uncertainty – Achieving peace of mind as we face the unknown, said that

“We have to learn to pray not with a sense of wishing, hoping, yearning or entitlement, but with a sense of trust, gratitude and purpose.”

In other words, we pray for God to give us the wisdom and strength to accept and handle what Life gives us. She also provided a lovely prayer for us to keep in mind and repeat to ourselves daily.

“Dear God, I trust that no matter what happens in my life, it is for my highest good. And no matter what happens in the lives of those I love, it is for their highest good. From all things you put before us, we shall become stronger and more loving people. I am grateful for all the beauty and opportunity you put into my life. And in all that I do, I shall seek to be a channel for your love.”

This prayer resonates with me and every time I read it to myself, I feel a sense of peace and trust that all is happening for my good – even if it doesn’t seem to be that way at the moment.

Here is to a peaceful and blissful day to all of you
XOXO
Prithi

Leave a comment

Filed under Life is Awesome

What are you thinking?

