Time

Time is a funny thing. Most of us generally take it for granted. Yup, it’s there and it’s trudging along. We rush about checking the time at several points, trying to get our tasks done. Or sometimes, we keep checking it to see if enough has gone by yet in anticipation of something we are looking forward to. Sometimes, we simply can’t wait for large chunks of it to pass by so that we get what we want. Do we realise that Time is pretty much the only resource we can never get back once spent?

hourglass

I have been thinking about how we are constantly racing with Time to get to the next thing in our lives. The next job, the next promotion, the next purchase, the next project, the next whatever… Ok, I will speak for myself then. Without quite being conscious of it, my mind constantly keeps jumping to what’s next? I wait so long for one thing to happen, then, when it has happened, I am like “What is next?!”. I suppose it is the fundamental human need to keep growing, spiritually and mentally. It is what keeps us moving forward and that is how a lot of the good inventions have come about, no doubt. But on a personal level, I think I really should remain present more, appreciate my current status more and stop obsessing about the future and my plans for it. But it is so hard! I want to know what is coming, I want to grab hold and shape the (my) future.

But recently, I have tried to let go. To do what I can in the present and let what happens, happen. I am trying to view my future as the unread portion of a novel. I don’t know what’s coming and I can’t flip to the end to read; so I will just have to live it out, won’t I? There are literally a thousand and one things that can happen in life. We are really not sure what’s coming. That’s where Faith has to step in and give us the wisdom that whatever happens, we will know how to handle it. Good or bad.

Remaining firmly in the present is the only way to stop the obsession from taking over and making you cuckoo with anxiety. If not, it will be one nasty vicious cycle of constantly thinking “What’s Next?”. We get to appreciate Time more when we remain in the present.

That said, Life is all about “What’s Next”. Because without that something, we are not moving forward. We stagnate. My point was just not to obsess about it and get too caught up in achieving all your goals in a certain pre-dictated time frame. Let’s give ourselves a break, shall we?

Just because January has come around again, is no reason to get frustrated that you have undone resolutions still on the plate, or disappointed that you did not achieve certain goals. I mean you must have tried, surely, feeble attempts all inclusive. So continue your efforts, keep going for whatever it is that you want. With enough Faith and work on your part, what is meant to be will happen in its Own Time! The Universe’s concept of Time is vastly different from ours and the thing is, the Universe is in charge of this thing called Time; not us, unfortunately. I am a great believer in the saying “Everything has its Time and place”. I just have trouble keeping that in mind!

With Patience, Faith and Diligence, your Life will unfold in all its wonderful flaws and beauty, just the way it’s supposed to. Because, you see, in the end, it will all have worked out fine. You just didn’t know it back then.

Our job, therefore, is to enjoy the present, have faith in the future and not fret about the past.

Happy 2015…

2 Comments

Filed under Life is Awesome

2 responses to “Time

  1. I think as we age, time is something we grow more appreciative of. I too, try to do a better job these days of being in the moment, soaking in what is happening right now. Wishing you the very best in 2015:)

What are you thinking?

